Bringing the Com to MarCom

I guess enough people know about it around the office that I can go ahead and let the rest of the world know – I’m moving into a new job!

I wasn’t really looking, but the opportunity presented itself and it seemed like time to challenge myself again.  As one person said after IMing me to follow up on the rumor she’d heard, I pretty much had my current job “nailed.”

That’s not to brag that everything was perfect (you might have heard about our last earnings announcement). Or that there weren’t still things to be done in my role setting strategy and managing the corporate “About Dell” content on Dell.com. I’m passing many ideas not yet implemented on to the person comes behind me, and there are probably many more that she will see.

That’s really why a move appealed to me – I don’t want to get in a rut of doing the same thing, the same way. I’ve always done my best work when pushed beyond my comfort zone, and some “fresh blood” will be good in my current role.

So, where am I going? Well, not too far it turns out. I’m moving on to another position at Dell in Small and Medium Business Marcom as part of the Global Digital Capabilities team. The official title is MarCom Senior Consultant, and my first order of business will be the optimization of several global landing pages.

It’s not without some trepidation that this next twist of my career path takes me into more of a pure marketing role. Spending many years in employee communications, public relations and now online communications, I must admit I’ve often viewed marketing as a little slimy. (And I just rewrote that sentence three or four times trying to figure out how not to slam the field into which I’m moving.)

I’m not alone in that feeling. As someone pointed out:

There have been some misconceptions, some bad karma, some seedy compromises, and broken promises over the last few thousand years or so that have wrecked the simple notion of marketing and sales.

But, the truth is without sales there would be no business to communicate about. While some still say PR is more interested in relationships, I have to believe that social media and the impact it is having on how companies interact with people online is causing marketing to place more value on relationships, too.

So, I’m excited for the opportunity to bring all of my background in business communication and social media to this new role and to make an impact on how Dell markets our products and services to small and medium business customers. I’ll be transitioning jobs (read: doing two at once) through the month of October and will be working to immerse myself in the SMB world.

If you work in a small or medium-size business, be prepared for me to pick your brain!

5 comments

  1. Paull Young · October 1, 2009

    Congrats on the move Laura!

    And I must agree – originally being a PR guy myself (my blog is called Young PR, but that’s just my name and initials…), I’ve also been doing more and more work with marketing folk… and enjoying it.

    One of the beautiful things about social media is that it unites disciplines and crosses boundaries – but at the same time requires a focus on relationships no matter what the purpose.

    Like

  2. Simon Salt · October 1, 2009

    Congratulations on the new role, you’ll be a perfect fit for the new role and for the team. Look forward to working with you 🙂

    Simon

    Like

  3. Angelica · October 1, 2009

    Congratulations!
    Gathering experience from different areas gives you a great advantage, because you have an broader vision and more tools to integrate all these elements in MarCom.
    You will find very interesting points in SME’s, for instance in my region (central France) there is little awareness of MarCom, for most of them this is = sales.
    I hope the new challenge will be rewarding 🙂

    Like

  4. Jack Leblond · October 5, 2009

    Congrats on the move Laura!

    I moved from the I.T. world two years ago into MarComm, let me be one of the first to welcome you to the dark side.

    Enjoy!

    Like

  5. Dora Smith · October 23, 2009

    Laura, congrats on the new move and I’m sure you’ll make sure any marketing you do is anit-slimy! Look forward to hear more about your new gig.

    Dora

    Like

Leave a Reply

